The Old Oaks Association | Somerset College
Please click here for the COVID-19: South African Government resource and news portal.

The Old Oaks

The Old Oaks is the alumni and supporter community of Somerset College.

The Old Oaks Association, as one of the custodians of the College ethos, serves to give important guidance to Somerset College. A young school such as Somerset College, needs custodians to embed important aspects of what will become their heritage so that it can grow into a greater place that reflects some of the noble intentions of the founding parents and students.  The Old Oaks Association has been created for a very simple reason; to promote fellowship and to keep everyone connected to the school. One day we hope that our members will become benefactors; by sharing their time and skills we believe that the Old Oaks will contribute to the health and prosperity of the school.

We want Old Oaks to be proud ambassadors of the College. This is our school and the Old Oaks have a vital role to play in keeping the College a special place filled with opportunity, friendship and love.

We encourage Old Oaks to return and visit the College. To keep up with our growing community, we ask that you login to our Old Oaks Alumnet database which will give you access to a number of features.

 

Alita Wilkens (Chairman)

Grant Brown (Vice-Chairman and Reunions)

Robyn Humphreys (Staff representative) 

Demi Rawstorne (Legal)

Nicholas Persse (Sports Liaison)

Garen Bevan (Sport Coordinator)

Michael Taberer (ABT Representative)

Graham Sayer (Executive Head)

Heine Matthee (Business Manager)

Annaleen Matthee (Marketing and Alumni Officer)

YEAR REPRESENTATIVES

CLASS OF MEMBER EMAIL ADDRESS
1999 Déan Stassen / Libby Brown dean@stassen.co.uk / libbyboonzaier@hotmail.com
2000 Grant Brown grantbrown88@hotmail.com
2001 Katie Weldon / Hanneli Koegelenberg

kate.close4@gmail.com / hannelirupert@mac.com

 

2002 Nicola Geraghty / Tom Orpen ncgeraghty@gmail.com / tomorpen@gmail.com
2003 Contact the Old Oak Committee if you're interested.  
2004 Tessie van Schalkwyk tessie.vanschalkwyk@gmail.com
2005 Robyn Humphreys

robynenpointe@gmail.com

2006 Jes Foster jmrfoster@gmail.com
2007 Philip Taberer philip@avontuurestate.co.za
2008 Jon-Louis Burke jonlouis@mukuru.com
2009 Alita Wilkens alita.w@live.co.za
2010 Camilla Salmon csalmon@fairbridges.co.za
2011 Contact the Old Oaks Committee if you're interested  
2012 Mary-Jane Paulsen maryjanepaulsen0@gmail.com
2013 Michael Gomes mikegomes@live.co.za
2014 Demi Rawstorne demi.raws@gmail.com
2015 Contact the Old Oaks Committee if you're interested  
2016 Marcus Nel / Geran Bevan marcusnnel@gmail.com / g.bevan@somcol.co.za
2017 Amarta Myeza / Jack Linney amartamyeza@gmail.com / linneyjack@gmail.com
2018 Stephanie Halton / Jaihne Magerman haltonsteph@gmail.com / jaihne.magerman@gmail.com
2019 Jess Norval / Stéphanie Juncker  jessnorval@gmail.com / stephjuncker@gmail.com