The Cambridge Primary English curriculum is presented in five content areas or ‘strands’. The framework promotes an enquiry-based approach to learning to develop thinking skills and encourage intellectual engagement. The five strands are:

  • Phonics, spelling and vocabulary
  • Grammar and punctuation
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Speaking and listening

The curriculum aims to enable students to communicate confidently and effectively and to develop critical skills in order to respond to a range of information, media and texts with enjoyment and understanding.

Students who follow this framework will develop a first-language competency in English based on a curriculum designed to be successful in any culture and to promote cross-cultural understanding. The Cambridge Primary English curriculum framework provides a solid foundation on which the later stages of education can be built.